105 Pounds Down!!! 145 to Go in 7 Months!!


105 Pounds.  5 Months.  It’s not a diet it is a lifestyle change.  I really think I will be able to keep this up for the long term because that is how I’m treating it.  Substituting water for soda was easy.  Granola bars as snacks and making sure I eat something for breakfast has been the key so far.  It is a great accomplishment and I’m proud of it.  It hasn’t been easy breaking old habits.  It has been hard not to drop back into the comfort zone.  I may even have a bad day here and there, but it doesn’t last and I compensate for it with more exercise.  I feel so much better physically and mentally and look forward to the spring and summer and to enjoying life for the first time in a very long time.

Thanks are in Order

I haven’t been able to do this alone.  This blog has been a great release for me.  I have to thank my wife Renae for helping keep me on track and she has encouraged me to tow the line.  She has lost a bunch of weight in her own right and I enjoy having an exercise partner, even though she is way better on the elliptical than I ever will be.  I think it has been a great journey for all of our family.  Everyone is eating better and the exercise level overall has been increased.  I’d like to thank all of you who read and comment on this blog and on my posts in Facebook and on Twitter.  I received lots of encouragement even though I feel uneasy about being a role model and/or inspiration.  It has taken me 49 years to get here and I wasted a bunch of time, so I guess the example is that it is never too late no matter how bad you feel or what physical ailments you have.  You all have been important to me and have kept me going.

Future is Bright

I’m really looking forward to the spring and summer.  I went walking in the park last Saturday and even though it was very cold, it was much better than walking on the treadmill.  I think it will be easier to maintain the 3 miles and beyond walking in the park.  There a plenty of 5K walk runs starting in February that I hope to participate in.  The exercise which has consisted mostly of walking has been very important in losing the weight.  It keeps the metabolism up and has increased my stamina and energy levels.  It keeps you on the path during those weeks where you don’t lose much weight even when you have dieted well and done the work.  The scale is funny.  I know there are weeks when I lose 2 or 3 pounds when I feel like I lost 10.  I can feel the difference in my clothes.  Some are falling off of me now, yet I can be inpatient as well.  It isn’t going to happen overnight.  7 months from now is my birthday.  I’m 145 pounds away from the goal.  How will I look losing 250 pounds?  I’m not sure, but I know I will FEEL much better and will have a much better outlook for the rest of my life.  Who knows, I’ll be 50 maybe I’ll join one of those “senior” softball and/or hockey leagues.

Stress and the Diet

I think, no I’m sure, that part of my weight problem was eating due to stress. You have to find a better outlet for the release of stress.  I’ve been under employed for 2 ½ years now and the money situation has never been worse for our family.  In the past I would be stuffing whatever food I could find down my throat to help relieve the stress, but it only makes it worse.  My outlook is much better as is my confidence level in being able to ride out this storm.  After all, it is only stuff.  I have to believe that I’m not defined by the job I have but by how I live my life.  I want my girls to have everything they want in life and I hope to be able to provide them with what is important.  Being healthier and sporting a more upbeat persona should help me in my pursuit of success in the business world again.  It isn’t always about working hard, it is the complete package.  I haven’t presented a great package the last couple of years.  I’m fixing that.

Progress…….Here are a few pictures along the way.  When I hit the 125 pound mark I’ll model my “big” clothes to see the difference.  Sometimes even after 100 pounds I don’t see the difference, though I know it’s there.  These help.   Have a great week and God Bless.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment